I read half of Lolita today. It's a hard to put down book. Not because it's racy, though it is, but because it's so well-written. It's intriguing to me how much I find myself sympathizing with the main character. He's such an unreliable narrator. Nabokov can almost have you thinking, well, really, she seems pretty happy, not such a bad arrangement. And then he slips in something like "her sobs in the night - every night, every night - the moment I feigned sleep." How fucked up is that?

This whole thing with Livejournal suspending journals got me kind of upset. First, yeah, the fandom stuff, but by the time I heard about that, it was mostly looking up. What actually bothers me more is some of the other journals and communities that they suspended, simply for talking about pedophilia... Pedophilia being the mental disorder where someone is attracted primarily to children. I don't support pedophiles, and I certainly don't think that they should have increased access to children (quite the contrary.) But I don't buy that booting the pedophiles off of LJ or not allowing there to be communities for discussion of pedophilia is going to "make children safer" (to paraphrase Barak Berkowitz, the 6A CEO.)

On the other hand, I sincerely don't want to get drawn into the drama that people are making about this. I guess what I'm going to do is probably just write a letter to LJ telling them what I think and then leave it. Oh, and maybe add pedophilia to my interests. Because yeah, it is INTERESTING. In an INTERESTING-BUT-NO-I-DON'T-LIKE-IT way.

P.S. Has anyone else ever heard people say that the word "sin" comes from something like "forgetting" or "ignoring"? I feel like maybe I read it in a Buddhist magazine somewhere. The online etymology dictionary does not agree.
.

Profile

kaizoku: (Default)
kaizoku

Most Popular Tags

Powered by Dreamwidth Studios

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags