No. NO.

And I'd just been thinking that LJ hadn't fucked up in a while and maybe I'd get a paid account.

From here: Basic Account is an option available to accounts which were created before March 12, 2008. No account created after this date can be turned into a Basic Account.

But do they mention it in the latest news post? Naah. That'd be sily.

ETA: in response to frecklestars here:
Okay, for serious. Ads are really annoying to some people. Do you remember the hullabaloo when plus accounts were first offered? There was a huge controversy over whether ads should be shown on livejournal AT ALL, given its roots as an ad-free site. If I was a new user who just wanted to write a blog, I would definitely choose not to use livejournal given this new policy and the current state of its advertising (if they were text ads I might consider it.) For the average person who wants to blog there are other options.

What your comment overlooks is that Livejournal is not just a blogging service. It's used extensively for social networking and communication. This is what enables them to even get people to sign up for plus accounts -- people sign up for the features, such as user icons, and I think it's safe to say that most of these features are important for social reasons.

One of the most used features of Livejournal is communities. New communities are created all the time and this makes LJ particularly rich and vibrant in my view (though also home to lots of dead comms.) Community journals also tend to be looked at more than user journals (many people just read their friendslist rather than looking at individual journals very often.) And I routinely see well-designed, ad-free comms getting more traffic and use than comms with ads on them.

So yes, this is going to inhibit my use of Livejournal. And thank you for the question, you helped me clarify my thoughts on this.

ETA2: I'm not sure if the change also goes for communities. Anyone have info on this?

ETA3: On who to complain to about this
ext_2248: (Default)

From: [identity profile] macey-muse.livejournal.com


I'll be researching stamp costs to the USofA, methinks. This is. jdsakl;jfdks. NOT. AGAIN.

(am I going to have to make room in my basic-only 6 icons for an 'lj failz' icon again? ¬.¬)

From: [identity profile] kaizoku.livejournal.com

i'm going to miss basic six


I'm going on a community-making spree just in case communities end up going plus or paid only. ><

I WAS SO HAPPY WITH LIVEJOURNAL LATELY! IT'S LIKE SEASONAL ALLERGIES OR SOMETHING.
ext_2248: (Default)

From: [identity profile] macey-muse.livejournal.com

Re: i'm going to miss basic six


When I re-emerged from IJ (for blindgo, mainly) I decided I was gonna go basic and stay basic. Despite the temptation of icons, I've kept to that, sofar.

(I know! All those clarified ToS, saying exactly what they meant, -answering questions-, the anti-anorexia clause... and now this. and [livejournal.com profile] gigantic, maybe, IDK. *touchwood* hopefully she's just left, not been ToS'ed, but. kj;alsfk *bites nails*)

From: [identity profile] kaizoku.livejournal.com

Re: i'm going to miss basic six


Damn, I'd just started reading her stuff. Looks like this might be her on IJ.
ext_2034: (Default)

From: [identity profile] ainsley.livejournal.com


Because it's done based on user number, everything created after a certain number yesterday is without the basic option, so a comm creation spree isn't possible.

yay, lj, for learning from mistakes. oh, wait.

From: [identity profile] kaizoku.livejournal.com


Wait, does that mean that if you're a basic user who started using (like drugs, haha) before 3/12 that you'll be able to create basic comms in the future? Because when I go here it's still giving me the basic level option. I just figured they hadn't gotten around to changing it yet.
ext_2034: (Default)

From: [identity profile] ainsley.livejournal.com


Technically no one is supposed to be able to create anything basic anymore (cite (http://news.livejournal.com/106731.html?thread=68499435#t68499435)). All LJ accounts numbered above 15136000 will not ever have the basic option (cite (http://news.livejournal.com/106731.html?thread=68508651#t68508651)).

So the community creation thing, which I'm also seeing, is technically not supposed to be happening. According to those two sources, both from official people, NOTHING basic can be created. So if it's letting you go all the way through, create away! Exploit their oversight!
.

Profile

kaizoku: (Default)
kaizoku

Most Popular Tags

Powered by Dreamwidth Studios

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags